“Border areas”: Frontiers and DMZ

I’m sorry for the long delay, but I have been busy! I will try to catch up to the present in two posts! I need to mention the week of May 12 – 18 on its own, because it was full of good things.

I finally visited the Frontiers community!  Before I had attended one of their Monday night prayer meetings in Seoul, but this time I not only attended the Monday prayer meeting, but I also went home with them, had a sleepover with Cindy, went on a walk with her and Jung Joo, made 된장 (Doenjang: soy bean paste) with all the Frontiers 샘터 community members, and celebrated with lunch out and coffee at a super cute cafe!

ImageImageImageImage

Whew! What a rich experience! I felt so much at home during my visit. Intentional Christian community is ‘my thing.’ My kind of people. The environment where I feel like I can grow, where my heart feels light and free. I know that I will return there again. I know that celebrations really show communities in the best light… but rather than dismissing this experience as one-of-a-kind, I’d rather try to create more reasons to bring people together to celebrate throughout my life!

A few days later I had another opportunity to spend time with many like-minded people. The Korean Peacebuilding Institute (KOPI) had an advanced/professional-level restorative justice training in Inje, 강원도, and I went along to do childcare and scope out the venue (DMZ Peace-Life Valley – the same place where we’ll host NARPI in August).  It was another lovely time, though I did get a migraine and usually childcare isn’t my thing.  I enjoyed just sitting at a distance watching kids who live in urban Deokso building a house with stones and grass.  I enjoyed talking to different people who I knew from work, from church, and from Frontiers.  It was moving to see the participants demonstrate the power of “psycho-drama,” acting out situations of real-life conflicts to help people see things in a new light and find hope and healing.

ImageImage

The trip to Inje was also good preparation to get me excited for Mindanao Peacebuilding Institute.  More about that in the next post!


One comment


Leave a comment